I think I shocked everyone at the barn last night (well the 2 moms who were there), when I said that I don’t care if my girls go to college or not. There immediate reactions were pretty much – well my kids don’t have the choice. But why? Why NOT give your kids the choice? Why make them do something that they may or may not want to do right out of 12 years of forced education? I don’t get it. Colleges are increasingly getting more expensive – according to business insider .com – college tuition rates have soared almost 600% since 1980 while  income have risen only 71%

http://www.businessinsider.com/college-and-health-cost-versus-income-2011-3

There are more and more people in our world with college degrees that are working jobs that really require no degree – According to the Center for College Affordability and Productivity –

“About 48 percent of employed U.S. college graduates are in jobs that the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) suggests requires less than a four-year college education. Eleven percent of employed college graduates are in occupations requiring more than a high-school diploma but less than a bachelor’s, and 37 percent are in occupations requiring no more than a high-school diploma;”

Now this is a whole lotta number pushing and I don’t usually follow the crowd – but personally I know a few people who’ve gone to college and ended up not even in their chosen field. Whether by choice or simply because after all that education they’ve decided that “law” was really not what they wanted to do after all.  And that is still a very large student loan that you have to pay back!

Now my own thoughts behind all this no going to college business? Who am I to force them to 4 more years of  formal in a class room education and to INCUR that debt (because, no matter what your circumstances you HAVE to pay it back) – just because I think they should go? I would love for them to go, find their passion and shoot for the stars. But I have one girl who really doesn’t like the work load and one girl who ASKS me for homework to do “after school” -we home school.  I am NOT saying in anyway – stop learning so you can be an ignorant adult – there is plenty of learning to be done with online courses, libraries and just friends getting together to learn something new.  It is not my choice, it is theirs. If they want to travel for 5 years before committing to education in a class room then so be it! If they never want to go and find happiness and decent support in managing or owning their own business  – then more power to them.  Someone, after all, has to shelve the books at the book store or teach yoga – and if that is what makes them happy – On the other hand – if one of my girls decides she really wants to be a lawyer after all then guess what – she is going to college!

Some things I have told them. If anything – go to a two year community college – It gets you an associates degree with minimal cost and yeah! your first 2 years are out of the way. If you have the opportunity to travel – take it – college isn’t going anywhere but that opportunity might be.  And they have to be able to afford what ever they want on their own.  So that self sustaining farm – needs an income – She’ll figure it out though – No asking for hand outs from us unless they absolutely need it. When they are grown and moved out it’s my turn to enjoy my hobbies.

Bottom line? I want my girls to be HAPPY – if going to college makes them happy then so be it. If they don’t want to go – then oh well. It really is not the end of the world.  College will always be there.

 

 

