Well January slid in with nary a bump or crash – Until now – We currently have about 12 +/- inches of snow in our back yard and it is crazy!  I really don’t think we are leaving this house for a couple of days – there is still 4 inches of snow on the driveway and that’s after my husband and girls shoveled yesterday –

DSCN2800

View from the front window – The hydrant is on the other side of the street 🙂 It still snowed for several hours after I took this picture –

DSCN2803

Our dog leaping through the snow!

January 1st we celebrated my husband’s birthday, a delicious lunch with some really good drinks at http://www.squareonebrewery.com/.  We definitely plan on going back! One of my gifts to him this year is Date day/night. We’ve been neglecting us it seems, with the girls going and going – we/I concentrate so much on getting them where they need to be that we forget to take care of the two of us (he works to make it happen) – SO I have picked 12 restaurants here in St. Louis that are mainly Farm to Table restaurants serving local foods and drinks – Some of these we may go to as a family but my main goal is for my husband and I to enjoy some time together –  Our first reservation is for February 1st! One of our goals this year is to eat out less and when we do eat out better quality –

january 2014 pictures - phone 014Cake and ice cream for my hubbies birthday – while we play boggle!

DSCN2808

Saturday J had a 3 1/2 hour dance camp and I really was lost as to what to do – I didn’t want to go grocery shopping and I didn’t want to go home so instead I wandered around Downtown Kirkwood for a few hours.  I bought some coffee and tea – ate lunch by myself and I found this very cute vintage table cloth that actually fits! by huge 52 inch square table – I was a happy girl 🙂

DSCN2811

Several months ago I gave up eating bread/gluten. Well – trying to give that up RIGHT before the holidays was probably not the best decision ever so I decided that I was going gluten-less. My husband and I decided to make the best of it- to quit again in January and so we ate all the yummy goodies we’d give up after his birthday! Well now that the holidays are over it’s time to start so last night I made an oh so yummy apple tart!

It was so easy to make – I took 2 large apples and diced them up into fairly small pieces. I added a couple of tablespoons of sugar and a sprinkle of cinnamon and cooked them down for a few minutes in a sauce pan. I took one piece of puff pastry and added the apples to one half. Folded over the other side and crimped with a fork. I added a few slits with a knife so the steam would escape, topped with more cinnamon and sugar and baked @ 400 for about 15 minutes or so! Oh was it good – and warm!

DSCN2804

Another picture of dogs romping in snow!

Bright Blessings!

 

 

 

