Bugs. Bugs and I are not friends. Well they don’t really bother me at all and I will got to great lengths to save a spider crawling in my house – but bugs in my pantry? I don’t think so.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mediterranean_Flour_Moth

Last week I found these little buggers in my pantry. I had bought a bag of pasta flour months ago which I never opened – the perfect place for these guys to grow apparently.  We are not big packaged food eaters – I cook %95 of our meals and we use mostly fresh or some frozen veggies,  so I really had no idea these little moths where festering and growing in a bag of forgotten flour! And grow they did. I literally went through my pantry and threw away EVERY grain, cereal, and  pasta that we had purchased. I took out all unopened packages and stored them on my counter for a week – I wiped down all the shelves and took out the paper shelf liner. It’s a good thing the flour I use for daily baking is in a totally different cupboard. Or maybe not – maybe if I had kept in in the pantry I would have noticed the buggers sooner!

IMG_2532

 

This past weekend I took all unopened boxes of flour products – those that were still in sealed plastic – I took them out of their boxes, cut the directions out and I used my handy, dandy vacuum sealer to seal them up tight. No bugs in this food.

IMG_2533

 

Rice, pasta, snacks all are now stored in  tupperware.

IMG_2535

 

IMG_2534

Cake mixes, brownie mixes, gluten free pizza dough mixes – all vacuum sealed.

 

The pantry is still pretty bare – I’m not buying a whole lot of flour products until I am completely %100 the moths are gone.

Still I see these moths. Every day I check for moths and let me tell ya – they are on my hit list!

Well  – I had wanted to clean out that pantry anyway –

Bright Blessings!

 

