Well,  Birthdays are past now.  Jaia’s birthday we spent at the zoo.  It was overcast and seemed to threaten rain continuously. And it was cold. Okay- well colder than it has been. Had to dig out sweaters! But the girls had a fantastic time and I would do it again in a heart beat!

We saw prarie dogs, camels, gorillas, zebras, giraffes, gazelles, penguins, bears and so many other fantastic creatures.

I’d forgotton it was holy Thursday – So a lot of the schools were closed and the zoo was packed!  I usually avoid our zoo when during school breaks because it’s a free zoo and everyone goes!  (we really have a cool zoo) . But it wasn’t as bad as it could have been – I think the overcast sky kept a lot of people from coming.

These gorgeous big cats are some of my favorites – but the section of the zoo is NOT my favorite. Their cages have not undergone renovations yet (I AM hoping they’re on the list at some point and time) and these gorgeous animals are pacing in areas much too small for them.  I think these cages date back to the 1904 World’s Fair.

After the zoo we grabbed pizza and then hit the mall for Rowan. The girls wanted to go hat shopping but alas! No cool, cheap hats were to be found anywhere! So they all ended up at Build a Bear where they spent their life savings on stuffing animals (not really:)..

A couple of dogs, a bear and a rabbit were adopted.

Home for cake and ice-cream then  – peace!

Rowan’s birthday ended up being a lot more laid back. The visiting girls had to leave fairly early for a dr’s appointment, so breakfast was quickly made. Presents were opened and cake eaten. All before 11:00!

This is what Rowan woke up to Friday morning.  A Goddess doll with Epona and a rowan tree. (Jaia’s had a unicorn on it.)

After the friends left, my girls and I headed to the tack shop so Row could get some things she’s been wanting for a while. Horse shampoo, leg wraps etc.. Don’t ask me what all it’s for!

Rowan decorated her cake 🙂 minutes after they all fell over!

Sushi was had for dinner in celebration of a 9 year old and a 14 year old! A quiet evening and whew!!! We survived another birthday bash. Well 2.

Today we’re off to the barn where we will be celebrating again –

Gooey Butter Cake!! This is the first time I’ve made this – I looks and smells delicious! I hope it’s a hit.

Bright Blessings –

 

 

 

