February 15th was my birthday – I am now officially closer to 40 that I am 30. Does that bother me? No – not so much.  I don’t have a fear of age-ing as  a lot of women seem to do. I don’t run out and buy youth serums or want to have plastic surgery. I don’t. When I am 40, my children will be 17 and 12.  My girls will be older, they’ll need “less” attention, but they’ll still need advice and mom.  I think it will be time for me to become ME again. I had my first child when I was 22 and I’ve been mom ever since. “Me” was defined by cloth diapers, breastfeeding, co-sleeping, baby-wearing and now homeschooling.  I have to admit, that as they’ve grown older I’ve struggled with who ‘me’  is.   “Me” is slowly reemerging  – slowly as I find out who I am as my girls are getting more mature and needing me less and less to be with them 24 hours a day.  It’s both exciting and frightening.

My birthday afternoon was wonderful.  I met a friend at an antique/junk shop and wandered around there  for about an hour or so.  I’m going to have to pop back over there though, I walked a way from a few purchases that I just wasn’t sure about.  But I think I’m going to see if there still there.

I did find this awesome suitcase there:

It was $2.50!!  I couldn’t pass it up. I’m going to use these as storage for extra clothes, papers  etc.. I find I like “vintage” suitcases and tuperware and I’ll buy them when the price is decent.

We wandered around Delmar after the antique store :   http://visittheloop.com/    and had  wonderful time window shopping. We had Thai food for lunch – yum! and then wandered down the other side of Delmar – up one side, down the other.

At http://www.avalonexchange.com/ I found this fantastic purse:

I’m on the constant lookout for Frye boots since I’ve found out about them.  After our meanderings I took my friend back to her van – picked up my husband from the airport and headed to pick up dinner. I decided that I wanted to try a new to us local pizza place called PI.

The best pizza ever! We will be going back there one day soon!  Thin crust or deep dish but we’re thin crust fans.

The rest of the week went something like this :  I woke up Thursday feeling blah. We went to Third Thursday (homeschooling book club, writing class), Pony Club meeting that night. Grocery shopping and  dance, on Friday.  Trivia Night/silent auction on Saturday. Sunday we Jaia and I spent the day at a Feis so she can see what their all about. (Irish Dancing).  THEN though we went to see “The Secret World of Arrietty”.  Wonderful movie and if you’re a Studio Ghibli fan you won’t be disappointed.  Monday then was back to the barn and I was finally feeling closer to normal. Ehh.. Not feeling “well” but not sick enough to make excuses and stay home.  And now we’re back to Tuesday. And we get to stay home! Maybe I’ll be able to fit in some cleaning/organizing of this basement.

Bright Blessings! Have a wonderful day!

 

 

